My Best Self

uplifting-karen-scovillIn his poem “The Devine Comedy” Dante said the “Seven Deadly Sins” are:

1 – Lust (inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body)
2 – Gluttony (to consume more than that which one requires)
3 – Greed (unreasonable desire for material wealth or gain)
4 – Sloth (great avoidance of physical or spiritual work)
5 – Wrath (anger embraced while spurning love)
6 – Envy (desire for others’ traits, status, abilities, or situation)
7 – Pride (excessive and blind belief in one’s self)

Rare is the person who aspires to such a dark list, although at sometime or another almost all of us fall into practicing items on it. “Don’t do’s” have meaning to me, but not nearly so much as the “Do’s”. In a mirrored reflection of Dante’s “sins” I came up with a list of “virtues” to remember as good sign posts for living:

1 – Love (tender affection for others)
2 – Moderation (using only what a person needs)
3 – Honesty (freedom from deceit or fraud)
4 – Effort (physical or mental exertion of will)
5 – Kindness (a generous and considerate nature)
6 – Contentment (satisfied ease of mind)
7 – Humility (modest view of one’s own importance)

The virtues list gives me ideals to aspire to. I am glad and grateful for a new week that begins with a reminder of what can help me be my best self.

The way of the superior person is threefold;
virtuous, they are free from anxieties;
wise they are free from perplexities;
and bold they are free from fear.

About James Browning

A seeker working to grow each day and be a better version of my self. Through sharing I commit myself deeper to my ideals and beliefs.
This entry was posted in Self Awareness, What really matters, Wisdom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.